NaNo21: Days 4, 5, 6, & 7

Whoo, didn’t realize it’d been so long since I last posted!

On Thursday, I was able to get 5k in, but then, due to stress and other factors, I only managed 2k on both Friday and Saturday. Tonight, I had really only planned to write another 2k, but 3k came out with ease, and I still had about twenty-five minutes before midnight to punch out another 1k to bring my November total to a cool 25k.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m glad for the progress. But this has to be the slowest NaNo I’ve done since I studied for an exam in 2016. Hard to admit that, but it’s true.

On Thursday, I did some stretches–which I desperately needed to do–but on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, I was quite sedentary. At least on Saturday I walked a pair of dogs (I was dogsitting; one of the dogs was mine) a few times in the gorgeous semi-autumn weather we’re getting down here in Florida right now. It was a chilly 70 degrees for most of the morning yesterday, and today was just way too beautiful. I ended up keeping my windows down whenever I was in the car.

Better yet, I have practiced violin everyday this week, so that chain isn’t yet broken. I’m now preparing for a mini “recital” (it’s technically a performance class for the students who can’t make it to the actual recital in two weeks, yours truly included). I’m not going to lie; the idea of playing only in front of a handful of elementary and middle-school students is far less frightening than climbing onto a stage and playing in front of gobs of show-recording parents, but it’s still a little nerve-wracking. I’m a little shy about performing, and I’m a late-starting perfectionist with no God-given talent on the violin. It’s rarely pretty, but, hey, I love playing.

We’re launching now into week 2, and it’s getting real now just where in the year we are (it’s like a slap of a cold fish in the face whenever I walk outside and see the neighbor’s Christmas lights already up). I should probably set a goal for this week wordcount-wise, but I’ll have to think about it before I commit to anything.

Let’s enter week 2 strong and excited!

Leave a comment