NaNoWriMo17: Day 22

After leaving work at noon today, I managed to conquer 23k words, which brings me up to being only 6.5k behind schedule! Two hours of writing is all that makes the difference at this point. And with the holiday weekend only just having begun, I’m hopeful this success will continue forward as a streak. I’m at 360k right now. I can almost taste 400k (and it is delicious).

Thanksgiving will be full of food and people, and every year I take my laptop to whichever house we happen to be gathering at so I can get some words in. This year, however, my laptop is largely out of commission. (The screen hinges broke. The poor thing literally flops 180 degrees flat. Like a table. But the screen still works! Smart table?) I’ll try taking it over anyway–my sister, who’s hosting Thanksgiving, won’t mind, but I’ll have very limited places to set it up. For example, I can’t set it in my lap. So really then it’s just a floptop?

In any case, I’m going to shoot for 20k tomorrow. In 2015, I managed to write 22k on Thanksgiving, but I’ll be conservative-ish and hope for the best. One never knows with family get-togethers and floptops.

May you all have a fulfilling, festive, family-, food-, and fun-filled Thanksgiving! (Full of words, too.)

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo17: Day 22

  1. I am so curious! How fast do you type? How is it even humanly possible to write as much as you do in a day? How long does it take you to write 23K? Are you working on a single book for this month or are you working on multiple things at once? How long is your ideal novel (not to read, but to write)?

    Anyway, I am a fellow Nano-er and I saw your word count and had to go look at your blog! You are doing an awesome job! I wanna be like you! But I am also very happy being like me, too. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Hi there! In order: I type between 40-80 wpm, depending on the scene, my surroundings, etc. That comes from lots of practice, and there are a lot of people who are crazy faster than me! I just did 24k today, and I think it took me about 8 hours worth of writing. So 23k would probably take me 7.66 or so. I’ve finished 3 books this November, I’m almost done with book 4, and I have a final book ready to start when I get there–I work on them consecutively, not at the same time. Not sure how people do that! I like writing novels to about 70-110k–anything shorter feels too quick, anything too much longer might start getting stale, but I’ve written novels from 27k through 290k before.

      Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by! And keep being you ๐Ÿ˜€ Best of luck in all your writing endeavors!

      1. That is very impressive. I have only had about an hour or two each day to write, so I guess that does limit the realm of possibilities just a bit. I bet it’s exciting to get so many projects finished up, though. Awesome work! How does your editing schedule work out? Sorry I keep asking questions, I am just very excited to have found someone who writes so much so quickly. Someone who takes it seriously, I guess.

      2. Thanks! I’m more than happy to answer questions; I love writing and I’m glad you do, too! Time definitely makes a difference, which is why I rely so much on my weekends. My editing schedule is not, unfortunately, as disciplined as my writing schedule! That’s my goal for after NaNo–I’d like to spend at least an hour a day editing. I did start off with something like that back in June, but real life worked super hard to kill it and succeeded, at least up until December. How about you? Do you do any editing of your stories? Do you have a writing schedule outside of NaNo?

Leave a comment